Grant Peace to Your Church

I like it when people pour out their hearts like this. I know, that probably sounds deep, but there is so much introspection during this time of year. Maybe it’s just me. I don’t know.

WIT

The Lamentation of Christ, Trinity Iconographers Institute The Lamentation of Christ, Trinity Iconographers Institute

Recently my life seems full of grief.  This is to be expected during Lent, a season characterized by “sorrowful joy.”  My grief though, has its roots in a profound sense of loss: the ecclesial home that I have loved, still love, and will likely always love, is no longer my home.  There is no time this loss is more acute for me than during Lent and Holy Week.  I was raised by a choir director and so was steeped in the sounds of Orthodoxy.  The sound and smells of Orthodox Lent, the mournful anticipation of Holy Week, is the music and ritual that I find the most moving.  The weeks spent together through the beautiful pre-sanctified liturgies and shared lenten meals to the intensity of Holy Week with its multiple services a day, creates a sense of…

View original post 1,014 more words

Leave a Reply

