A Breath of Comedic Fresh Air-Finally

I downloaded the NBC app on my iPad to watch “The Carmichael Show” and I was pleasantly surprised and also relieved. It was great to see some new faces and old ones in new roles. Who doesn’t want to see Loretta Devine and David Alan Grier?! Two household names in film and television. I love David Alan Grier’s ability to be so funny and versatile and I did not know Mrs. Devine had such a beautiful singing voice. The cast is perfect and I was happy to see Tiffany Haddish because of her naturally funny posture. I only learned of cast member Lil Rey Howery a couple of months ago when watching one of Shaq’s All-Star Comedy Specials. He is a great fit for the show. Jerrod Carmichael and Amber Stevens West make a cute couple and have great chemistry. It’s great to see a well done sitcom in this day and age. When I watched both episodes I was taken back to my childhood when I used to watch “Good Times,” “The Jeffersons,” and “Sanford & Son.” This show is brand new but mature and well written. It’s clever and well timed. Looking forward to more episodes and lots of seasons, and some special guests. 

Leave a Reply

