Social in September?

It was the end of the first week of August when I decided to go off the social media radar. I needed a break from all my accounts, which includes, Pinterest, Tumblr, Facebook, Twitter,  and Instagram. I guess I was suffering from information overload and I couldn’t stand to see another photo, read another status, nor open up another link to an article. I was worn out from it all. Now it’s the first week of September 2015, and wow how time flies. 2015 is leaning towards its end, and I am wondering how to approach social media today and in the future. Taking a sabbatical from social media is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It showed me that I don’t have to partake in it; I don’t need it at all. Or do I? From a writer’s standpoint it is helpful to showcase my poetry or thoughts. If I want to have a career as a writer I will need these accounts to converse with people and give them access to my passions. The other side of this, the ugly side, is being a little addicted to social media. It’s so easy to grab your phone and open up these apps instead of engaging in actual conversations, or using time wisely to finish other tasks. I don’t want to go back down that road. I have yet to load those apps back on my phone and I don’t think I want to. I don’t miss any of the sites at all. 

Maybe I’m looking for something new. All in all I’m in a really good place concerning social media. I believe my use this time around will be more deliberate and purposeful. At least I hope so.

MM

Leave a Reply

