Wayward

No where to go
Floating along like a ghost writer
Any fight inside has taken flight
Right at the moment I thought I made it
Now I hate it
Fate has a stranglehold on my wherewithal
Fall is here
Failure after measured failure mounts
Stacked higher than my tears
Beaten down my own blueprints
A face too soft for flint
Sunken like old treasure never found
Rusted and useless pounds
Wayward and in disguise 
The light is too much
This is awkward and I know it
My soul pulls on me to get better
So, I penned myself a letter 
Next year I’ll be reminded of what I did not do
Did too
Because my sideways life is wayward

Leave a Reply

